What is a deprecated block?
A deprecated block is a block that has moved out of production. This means it won't receive future updates, development work, or bug fixes.
Why is a block deprecated?
A block is deprecated when there is no longer any need for this block as decided by nTop. This can happen when it is replaced by a beta block or a production block that encompasses the functionality of the deprecated block.
How do I upgrade my workflow that uses a deprecated block?
In most cases, you will be prompted to update the blocks upon opening the software. If selected, the blocks will automatically update to their replacement block. If the process is more involved, the appropriate steps and support material will be provided.
Can I still use a deprecated block?
Yes, workflows using this block will still run, but we encourage you to update any workflows that utilize this block and avoid further dependencies on deprecated blocks.
In the future, any deprecated block may be put into End of Life status. This status signifies that the block will be removed from the software in the future. If the block does enter this phase, all users will receive advanced notice and a timeline of the block's removal.
How do I use a deprecated block?
To enable deprecated blocks, go to File > Settings > Enable Deprecated blocks. With this setting enabled, you can find all deprecated blocks in the search bar. Deprecated blocks are not found in the Ribbon. Keep in mind that we do not encourage the use of deprecated blocks.
What if I find a bug while using a deprecated block?
Bug fixes won't be supported for deprecated blocks. If you encounter a bug, we recommend using the appropriate replacement block to address the issue.